396 Front Street - The structure is one of the larger and more fashionable homes on Front Street and has the Susquehanna River at the rear. Like others in the historic district, it was the home of one of Owego’s most prominent citizens. The structure is a rather unusual variation of the Second Empire style and one of the relatively few in Owego. Its curiosities in design include a rather inconspicuous entrance on the west side and no entrance at all on the more public north facade. Also, the arched stone sills on the west are of the same pattern as the recessed openings at pointed lintels on the north. In effect the sills on the west are up-side-down lintels. Of special note are the intact cast iron balconies. In 1864, John J. Taylor lived on Main Street but by 1867 had this unique residence built for the Taylor family. Taylor was born in 1808 and came to Owego in 1834 and became one of the Village’s most distinguished and wealthy citizens. Among his many distinctions were that he had been Owego’s first Fire Chief, was a bank official, vice president of the Southern Central Railroad and a U.S. Congressman. Taylor died in 1892 and his grandson, Emile G. Taylor continued in the house as occupant/owner. The 1912 and 1920 directory listings name Sarah J. Taylor, John Taylor’s daughter-in-law, as the occupant. Mary L. Taylor resided here during the 1930's and 1940's. By 1968, the home had passed out of the Taylor family.